43 Folders

Back to Work

Merlin’s weekly podcast with Dan Benjamin. We talk about creativity, independence, and making things you love.

Join us via RSS, iTunes, or at 5by5.tv.

”What’s 43 Folders?”
43Folders.com is Merlin Mann’s website about finding the time and attention to do your best creative work.

GTD Very First Steps

I'm a GTD beginner. I'm documenting this mostly for my sake, somewhat to capture how I started, somewhat to help get others started, and somewhat to seek general comments or constructive critism.

I just started using GTD literally finishing reading the book this morning. Here is how I started implementing GTD (earlier this week):

Step 1: Put all papers on desk into new In Box (big enough to fit a file folder flat, and about 6 inches high).

Step 2: Create a Reference/"To File" box (same size as "In Box")

Step 3: In my desk I have about a 10.5 inch space for hanging file folders. Here is where I will keep my Active files. I could have used a desk top "crate" if I need even faster access to it.

Step 4: Create Empty Lists:
Someday/Maybe
Projects
Reference (for temporarily holding reference info)
- GTD does not specify a "Reference" list, but I currently have one item on it: the manufacturer and model number of a light fixture that I may purchase again in the future...allowed me to throw away the box).

Step 5: Create File Folders (for in-desk file):
Calendar
Contacts
Projects
Someday/Maybe
Reference

Step 6: New Box (about 1 foot cubed) to hold "Someday/Maybe" items (smallish items hanging around that require repair)

Step 7: Create Initial Action Lists:
At Computer
Amazon (things I want to purchase)
Errands (things I drive to purchase/pick up)
House Work
Email
Call List

Right now, I don't have a decent system for holding contacts or reference material. But that will come quickly I assume once I start getting things done. I'll eventually be looking to keep a lot of information on Windows Mobile Pocket PC.