43 Folders

Back to Work

Merlin’s weekly podcast with Dan Benjamin. We talk about creativity, independence, and making things you love.

Join us via RSS, iTunes, or at 5by5.tv.

”What’s 43 Folders?”
43Folders.com is Merlin Mann’s website about finding the time and attention to do your best creative work.

[Whitepaper, haha] My System for GTD

Below i'll outline how i do my thing to get through the day and to "GTD" - at the bottom i'll note problems i have with the system.

FYI, I'm an engineering manager in charge of 11 engineers in a number of disciplines

My layout is nowhere near as pretty as Patrick Rhones whitepaper, it's a little more stream of consciousness - so apologies if your eyes bleed.

I've included in brackets the keys i use to invoke actions in case people care.

I use [="Blue"]Microsoft Outlook[/] for [="Red"]Calendar[/] and [="Red"]email[/] ? my folder structure looks like this:

Outlook Today
Inbox
Personal Folders
!--------------Archive 2006
!--------------Personal
!--------------Respond/Action
.Archive 2002
.Archive 2003
.Archive 2004
.Archive 2005

The Archives are broken up by year because otherwise my archive folder was too slow with 13,000 emails in it.

I have [="Blue"]3 macro?s[/] set up for my email Alt+1 (moves email to archive), Alt+2 (moves email to personal), Alt+3 (moves email to Respond/Action).

All notifications of new emails have been been removed and more often than not i completely close Outlook when I'm not actively working with email.

I use [="Blue"]Copernic Desktop Search 2[/] (Alt+W) to search for any emails or files on my pc. I?ve tried a few options but Copernic gives me the best view of search results so that I can easily pick out any info I want. This allows me to have a common dump of emails in the archive folder without any tagging or bumpf.

The Calendar portion of Outlook only holds meetings that I am to attend. It?s set to view one day. Every Monday I print out a snapshot of the working week to come.