43 Folders

Back to Work

Merlin’s weekly podcast with Dan Benjamin. We talk about creativity, independence, and making things you love.

Join us via RSS, iTunes, or at 5by5.tv.

”What’s 43 Folders?”
43Folders.com is Merlin Mann’s website about finding the time and attention to do your best creative work.

Digital Filing System

Hello, I have a question for the hive mind, and this seems like as good of a place as any.

I have a massive number of PDF files (I'm a student/academic type) and no really good organizational strategy for them. I've used DevonThink Pro for a while, and while it's good, I have some issues with it:

- I have about a gig and a half of PDF files, and no really good enduring organizational structure for the files.
- I've found that keeping it running all the time, as I'm wont to do, often is a strain on my somewhat aging laptop. (I have the penultimate g4 15 powerbook model)
- I'm going to have to start from scratch, basically if I want to continue to use it (a long painful story...

So I'm looking for a new idea of how to keep these things organized. I've thought about solutions like Yep!, and Eagle Filer, and Yojimbo, and even staying with DevonThink, but, going through all these files is going to be a pain in the ass, and I want something will be enduring, and scaleable. I have a gig and a half of files after an undergrad degree, and I'm going to start a doctoral program in the next couple of years, so this collection of files is only going to get bigger, so I want to devise a system that can grow with me. This probably means doing something open source/kludgey, but I'd like to consider this more fully before I'm all rash about it.

So, I'm interested in thinking about how to organize all these files, and here's my idea: