43 Folders

Back to Work

Merlin’s weekly podcast with Dan Benjamin. We talk about creativity, independence, and making things you love.

Join us via RSS, iTunes, or at 5by5.tv.

”What’s 43 Folders?”
43Folders.com is Merlin Mann’s website about finding the time and attention to do your best creative work.

Kinkless VoodooPad?

Hello, I'm new here.

I'm also new to GTD, but from everything I've seen, I've been doing it in a modified version to one degree or another, using my head steno pad. I come from a line of list-makers, and it works. Well enough. I've always wanted to digitize the process, but all of my attempts to use basic to-do managers always failed misserably. Someone mentioned GTD Tidy Wiki, and I liked the idea, but didn't know enough about GTD or frankly the setup to make it work right.

One thing lead to another and I stumbled upon 43Folders and what not, and discovered Kinkless. I'd been using OOP for 6 months or more as my primary note-taking/drafting/creation app, and while I liked it, but it required too much meta time to get it to do what I wanted, but I am/was wanted to give kGTD a try, and I've finally gotten it to a point where I work with it. And it finally is both sophisticated enough to take care of most of my concerns (so I really like how automatically files things away appropriatly).

The nature of my projects changed this semester (yeah, I'm an academic/student type), and with the update of VoodooPad (which I somehow missed when it happened). The tabbed browsing/editing and multiple window features really make this the ultimate app for, just about everything that involves text. So I've reverted back to VP, and I currently use it for almost everything.