43 Folders

Back to Work

Merlin’s weekly podcast with Dan Benjamin. We talk about creativity, independence, and making things you love.

Join us via RSS, iTunes, or at 5by5.tv.

”What’s 43 Folders?”
43Folders.com is Merlin Mann’s website about finding the time and attention to do your best creative work.

Advice for a newbie? (Sorry for the length...)

Hi all,

I'm new to this whole GTD thing. I just read the book over the last few days, and am planning on reading it again, and my hope is that it works out for me like it has for so many others. That said, I feel a bit paralyzed by choices at the moment-- do I do a digital inbox, a paper one, what sort of filing system to use, that sort of thing. So, I was hoping that I could explain my situation and solicit all of you experienced people for some advice.

I'm a graduate student, doing my PhD in English Literature. My main problem, as far as organization goes, is procrastination. In the past, I've done well with to-do lists. This is why I think GTD might work out for me. If my day is organized-- if I have task one, task two, task three, I can usually get through them; I just need to get them there in front of me.

My days are composed primarily of a few things: reading (the bulk of my time is definitely reading, especially for the next few months as I am preparing for my comprehensive exams), writing, marking, and teaching. Occasionally I have little errands to do involving students or some minor administrative duties, but I feel comfortable that I'll be able to organize these with GTD. (Action: E-mail student regarding paper topic.)

The way I am thinking of it, I am planning on blocking out time on my calendar (I use iCal at the moment) and call it "Reading." I'll set up a context that is called "Reading" and use that to filter my reading list. Ditto marking, as these are things I can do anywhere. Writing might fall under "@Computer." So far so good.